What Window Manager do you use on FreeBSD?

I'm new to FreeBSD, so I have some questions:

1. Do you use FreeBSD as a desktop or a server?
2. What Window Manager or Desktop Environment do you use, Gnome2.x, Gnome3.x, KDE, XFCE or something else?

Can you post some screenshots of your desktop?

Thanks!

Welcome.

There are a few similar threads, so try searching.

I use x11-wm/fluxbox and x11-wm/stumpwm. I'm posting from a phone, so I can't give you a screenshot.

I'm told that gnome3 is such a mess that porting to FreeBSD is still in the works, but I know very little about it.

I've used windowmaker, openbox, icewm, fvwm2, lxde (in ghostbsd.org thumbdrive) .... One can grab premade configuration files from the web usually if one know their names. Desktop user here. I've never to my recollection used any of those four posted in the first post.

I'm using fluxbox on my netbook at home and also on my desktop at work. As I cannot remove Windows 7 from the company's desktop, FreeBSD is running on top of VirtualBox.

Hi,

I have several window managers installed but since last year my every day wm is windowmaker. It's simple, has interesting and a plenty of features, fast build and it cost me few resources (CPU and RAM) which is important when recording multi-track audio with dozens of efx plugins, per example.
Another cool thing about why I like windowmaker:
1. you can tell a dock to load an app, like opera, keeping the window hidden, so slow apps do not bother me on startup when I'm using another one while I wait.
2. you can tell an app to bind itself to a workspace. I use the main Ardour window in workspace "4" and the mixer in workspace "5". It's very useful.