What should I buy to add audio record/playback to my computer?

FreeBSD Friends,

Like many of you, I'm both a FreeBSD user and a hobby musician.

I'm running 11.1-RELEASE-p1 on my desktop, which lacks audio hardware. It's a Supermicro A1SRM-2758F, which I know is an oddball desktop, but it works surprisingly well (with an Nvidia board in its open-ended x8 slot).

My microphone's a Shure SM58, and my mixer/pre-amp is a Behringer UB802.

In the past, I've plugged the Behringer's output in to the cheap built-in audio hardware of various computers, with OK results.

I'd like to invest in audio hardware for my desktop that's a match to the grade of these other components, more or less. I'm not a talented musician, but I'd like to avoid limiting the recording quality with whatever I buy (edit: CD quality digital audio's good enough; I don't aim to exceed that, though I'm not opposed to it if it's a "may as well" situation).

I have one open PCI-e 2.0 x4 slot, and some USB 2.0 ports.

I've gleaned the idea from other threads that USB DAC devices generally work, yet I see some listed for $20, and others for $300--and I don't know the difference, nor do I know whether FreeBSD will work well enough with them, to make the cash worth it (for a $300-grade one).

What should I buy, to add quality record (and playback) capabilities to my computer?

Continued FreeBSD glory to you all!

In case it matters, I'd like to record using the audacity-2.1.3_2 package. Thank you!

Hi.

If you want to do recordings using an external interface you do need a ADC (Analog-to-Digital Converter) and not a DAC (Digital-to-Analog Converter) - same applies to internal cards but usually different terms are used, in practice.

Some of the best interfaces for that purpose are RME and Lynx (I personally find Lynx the best sounding one), both expensive. Antelope interfaces are also top notch, but also expensive.