What SATA2 controller chips are supported?

Can anyone tell me which SATA2 controller chips are supported in release 7.0?

Ideally it would be nice if the SiL3124 chip was supported as that seems to be used by most of the cheaper PCI cards I can find, so it seems a natural, but I just can not find it listed anywhere.

I am new to FreeBSD so maybe I am looking in the wrong places, so alternatively if anyone tell me but how to find this info out it would be greatly appreciated (I tried the 7.0 hardware release notes but it only seems to list specific cards rather then the generic chip sets supported).

7.1-PRE AMD 770 (Asus M3A) - caused file corruption :-(
7.1-STABLE AMD 790X (Gigabyte MA790X-DS4) - works perfectly :)

trev said:
7.1-PRE AMD 770 (Asus M3A) - caused file corruption :-(
7.1-STABLE AMD 790X (Gigabyte MA790X-DS4) - works perfectly :)

Ooops, omitted to mention both those boards use the AMD SB600 for the SATAII controller.

Thanks for the info Trev. I did a quick check and I can not find an add in PCI card with the AMD SB600 chip set, so this chip set will likely not work for my purposes unfortunately.

My problem is I just want to add in a PCI SATA2 controller card to my old motherboard. The motherboard is an old Intel se440bx2 (550MHz P3), and it worked fine with a 250GB SATA1 HDD on an added in PCI SATA1 card that used a SiL3114 chip set. Unfortunately when I tried to upgrade it to a 1.5TB SATA2 drive, the SATA1 card will not recognize it, therefore it appears as though I need a SATA2 card, and it must be PCI card as that is all the motherboard has for slots.

Any other suggestions?

I'm using a foxconn a7gm-s with amd 780g/sb700 chipset

the sata seems to be working fine though devices on the ide chain are spotty.
I havn't done any data transfer tests on my sata drive so I couldnt say how good the support is.