What do you think about Oracle Database?

What do you think about Oracle 10g, 11g database?

I'm studying Oracle database for university.
Professor recommended to install 10g (less bloat)

I installed 10g on Legal Windows XP in VirtualBox
So now after trying to work with it for some 3 days... my impression isn't all that good...

For most part I use Web interfase... because I don't like SQLpluss in command prompt.... (psql [PostgreSQL client] in terminal is MUCH, MUCH better)
I got nuts, when I can't do some stuff, that I would expect like loading 1.2MB data file in table)

I'm used to PosrgreSQL & Unix like os.

I just hate that Oracle 10g doesn't have boolean data type (ok, I can live without it, but it's annoying)
I find it stupid, that 10g doesn't have serial data type (like in PostgreSQL)

Of course there are some things that 10g can and PostgreSQL can't.

I wanted to know what do you think about it :D

P.S.
Now installing Debian in VirtualBox to try 10g on Linux (failed to install on Ubuntu)
I hope it will be much better experiance

Not much of a db guy myself but I know oracle pays nice for good technicians. The guys at work claim it runs really nice on RedHat so maybe you could give that one a try too.

On the other hand, theres a pretty nice "fight" (at work) between oracle and db2 guys. Seems to me db2 is a bit more out there (of course, talking about high levels) and as far as I've heard, it performs better ? (?)

98% of our clients use Oracle V11; maybe it's worth studying too smurf.

I have been on two Oracle trainings (11g Administration Workshop I & II) and I am not impressed that much, typical enterprise (or should I say enterPRICE) software, lot of bloat in the installation (so called binaries), there are some nice features but I havent seen anything that would rip the helmet off the head.

... same for IBM TSM (Tivoli Storage Manager) if You ask.