Web server Disk layout and jail?

Best disk layout for web server with 8.2 with jail?

Hi guys,

I'm new to FreeBSD and after hostmonster.com has lost all my data due to a ‘major hardware failure’ I’m left with no confidence with third party hosting of my website. So here I am trying to sort myselft out. I’m trying to set up a reliable web server on my HP DL385 Dual AMD Opteron 2.6GHZ 4GB RAM 146GB scsi before I consider doing anything live with real data. I'm struggling to see what I should have for the server disk layout.

My plan is to have my web server setup with FreeBSD and have 3 jails in it for security.

1x for webserver
1x for database
1x for Email Server

Now, looking at the FreeBSD manual, the jail get installed in the /usr/ directory so it’ll be:

Code:
/usr/jail/webserver
/usr/jail/database
/usr/jail/email
Is there any way I could have a jail in a different directory like in /home?

So far I thought of having the following:
Code:
/ 2Gb
swap:	10Gb
/var:	2Gb
/tmp:	1GB (or tmpfs ??? please someone explain this to me)
/usr:	5Gb
/home: rest of the disk

Do you think the disk allocation is correct as I read that having a /home is better to have for the backup purposes as it would otherwise mean that I would have to backup everything in "/usr". Then the backup includes the "/usr/{bin,sbin,local}" directories which roughly make up 80% of the FreeBSD base install. So by having a separate home, I can backup less.

Should the jail be setup in the /home?

Thank you very much for your help.

You can put a jail anywhere you want. I have mine all under /jails/.

You can set up your jails in any directory you like. The directory /usr/jails is just a common example.

You might want to have a look at ezjail witch provides a very nice framework and also supports jails in ZFS.