Shell wc padding

Apologies in advance for the noise. I don't know why this seems bother me so much lately, it's just *one of those things*. I am by no means an expert programmer, just someone that has used the wc command for the better part of 20+ years on various unix/unix-like operating systems. It's one of those utilities that have been in unix almost from the beginning. Can someone please explain what was the reasoning behind the space padding on wc results?

We've all done it one way or another, wc -l {file} | cut/sed/awk. Heck, we can even utilize libxo output (though _still_ retaining space padding).

Have I been using wc wrong all these years? If not, is it worth submitting a patch so that passing, say "-P", suppresses padding?

A: Look up the POSIX standard for wc. See whether it specifies the situation with space padding.

B: Pull up the source code from a repository, and look for changes in the wc utility (use the history function of the source control system of your choice). When was this introduced?

As far as I know, space padding has been there from the beginning (regardless of unix flavor). Like I said before, it's just one of those things that make you go hmmm.

For grins, I looked at the code on 11.3-p1 for wc and see the reason why it's padded, just curious as to the design choice to do so. Changing output lines from "%7ju" to "%-7ju" is the right direction and a simple enough fix, but there still seems to be a leading space being outputted.

Ha, so we have a liar right here, wc(1), saying the following:
STANDARDS
The wc utility conforms to IEEE Std 1003.1-2001 (“POSIX.1”).
...while the actual format specified by POSIX is:
STDOUT

By default, the standard output shall contain an entry for each input file of the form:
"%d %d %d %s\n", <newlines>, <words>, <bytes>, <file>
...and what we have currently seems to be that of "System V version of wc ".