video geometry while installing

Hello Community,

I'm new to FreeBSD and installed it a couple of days ago.
I was wondering if my hardware (Lenovo ThinkCentre M58p) is too old or too exotic when I saw that the video was disturbed while installing. The Monitor is also flickering.
Please see the photos.
The first menu appears OK, but after loading the kernel, I think I get the wrong text geometry on my console.
Now I know, that I can add ' hw.vga.textmode=1 ' to /boot/loader.conf which solves this issue.
But then I can't switch (CTRL + ALT + F1...) between X and the consoles anymore. The box hangs after switching from X to a console.

Adding ' i915kms_load="YES" ' to /boot/loader.conf works, but it takes a while before the console enters the new video mode. With this setting the flickering time is shorter, but everything else works fine.

Do I have to compile a custom kernel to solve this issue?
I would like to enable a splash image while booting, that doesn't flicker.

Thanks for reading and any advice.

boot_1.jpg

boot_2.jpg

No need to compile a kernel.
Try your monitors function to center/calibrate the picture as it looks a bit of centre. See how that turns out.
(at least a bit older lcd monitors don't do that automatically)

before the boot use option
3. Escape to loading prompt

Then select different resulution using

gop list
gop set #
boot

To make this mode setting permanent save it to /boot/loader.rc.local with one line "mode <number>"

Thanks for your help.
Try your monitors function to center/calibrate the picture as it looks a bit of centre. See how that turns out.
(at least a bit older lcd monitors don't do that automatically)
I think the settings are fine, never had any problems.

gop list
gop set #
boot
I don't have this command availible.

Let's assume I know nothing about FreeBSD (not that hard), my monitor settings are fine and want to install FreeBSD.