Using a video as a splash screen

• Thread starter Deleted member 49176
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 49176

Let's say I wanted to program and add a video or a high definition animation of some sort as a splash screen, how would I go about doing that in FreeBSD? (I am a beginner of course)

Ideally the console framebuffer device would support the accelerated features of the videocard just like the devices under X do and that would give an easy way to play videos trough it but that's still very far off in FreeBSD.

It is must looking good. You need GIF support in a kernel (very bad idea).

See my reply above, there are proper ways to implement such things as graphics and video playback on a console that do not require polluting the kernel with unnecessary components.

It is very interesting how you are planning make splash before loading userspace utilites and not loading kernel modules (polluting the kernel). UEFI? Modifying boot Stage1,2?

Last edited by a moderator:
Fancy splash screens do make a good project but IMHO it is not a very good idea to do splash (ans similar histrionics) in the bootloader or even in the kernel. That is best done at the user space with it's plethora of supporting libraries and the like.

Nonetheless, YMMV and all the best