Unknown username "polkit" in message bus.....

I have enabled dbus and hald in rc.conf.
but when starting the system, it error pops up,
says:
Code:
starting dbus
Unknown username "polkit" in message bus configuration file
Unknown username "avahi" in message bus configuration file
starting hald..
somehow, i cannot starx no more..

could someone help with it?
thanks a lot in adv..

i am new to Freebsd, normally use Gentoo,
is there a way to re-compile all existing packages? or could fix it simply!
thanks

Don't avahi me in?

It sounds like you overwrote your /etc/passwd when you upgraded.
You can manually add the users polkit and avahi (you probably will need messagebus & haldaemon as well) with adduser(8). I don't think the UID or GID are strict, & using /sbin/nologin as the shell is probably an excellent idea.
(extracted from my /etc/passwd
Code:
messagebus:*:556:556:D-BUS Daemon User:/nonexistent:/sbin/nologin
polkit:*:562:562:PolicyKit Daemon User:/nonexistent:/sbin/nologin
haldaemon:*:560:560:HAL Daemon User:/nonexistent:/sbin/nologin
avahi:*:558:558:Avahi Daemon User:/nonexistent:/sbin/nologin
& /etc/group)
Code:
messagebus:*:556:
polkit:*:562:
haldaemon:*:560:
avahi:*:558:

I have manually added those lines, after rebooting i found the error still there! it is wired!

You can't add them manually by editing /etc/passwd. Delete them from /etc/passwd and use `vipw` and add them (`env EDITOR=ee vipw` if you are not familar with vi).

crsd said:
You can't add them manually by editing /etc/passwd. Delete them from /etc/passwd and use `vipw` and add them (`env EDITOR=ee vipw` if you are not familar with vi).

thank you, yes i do use vi.
i am going to have a try..:)

thanks a lot guys, i have fixed it used this way:

Code:
cd /usr/ports/sysutils/policykit/
make reinstall reinstall clean

cd /usr/ports/net/avahi-app

also i have tried the way as crsd pointed, it helped me as well. thanks a lot.:)

crsd said: