C unknown type '__u8'

I'm trying to compile a Linux program and am getting a number of errors in the form 'unknown type '__u8' or '__u16' or '__u32'.

Anyone come across and know what to do about it?

From the first Google match for __u8 type:

uintn_t are typedefs specified* by C99 (in <stdint.h>) and C++11 (in <cstdint>) standards. All new compilers provide these and appropriate definition is easy to get for the few ancient ones easily, so for portability always use this.

__un are Linux-specific typedefs predating those standards. They are not portable. The double underscore is used to signify a non-standard definition.

If possible I suspect the most simple fix would be something like -

Code:
typedef uint8_t __u8
typedef uint16_t __u16
typedef uint32_t __u32
I'm not a C programmer so the syntax above might not be right, and I'm assuming FreeBSD has uintX_t types based on the above quote. Also better would be to put this in some sort of #ifdef block that only applies if these are missing, or it detects FreeBSD, which is the sort of thing normally done if you want to make something portable. Ideally of course the original software should be updated to use standard types rather than something Linux specific.

If the software is written for Linux though, and has portability issues as simple to avoid as using Linux only integer types, you may find all sorts of other Linux-isms, some of which may not have an easy fix

I could work out how to use typedef but as a result of your suggestion changed all references in the code in line with the above and it proceeded OK until it need a
#include <linux/types.h>

Presumably there is some way to install Linux header files, but I don't know how...