Understanding old C style arguments

Hello everyone, first post after scouring these forums for months. I'm a grad student attempting to exploit CVE-2002-0973 on FreeBSD release 4.2. Since the code base I'm working with is circa the year 2000 (the year I discovered *nix....), there are some conventions that I'm hoping to get assistance with. Please bear with me on the longish post as I attempt to paint a clear picture.

A System call is issued to accept() with args. From syscalls.master:
C:
30    STD    BSD    { int accept(int s, caddr_t name, int *anamelen); }

The next step (I believe) is accept() is called from uipc_syscalls:
Code:
accept(p, uap)
    struct proc *p;
    struct accept_args *uap;
{

return (accept1(p, uap, 0));
}

And then accept1() is called uipc_syscalls.c
C:
static int
accept1(p, uap, compat)
    struct proc *p;
    register struct accept_args /* {
        int    s;
        caddr_t    name;
        int    *anamelen;
    } */ *uap;
    int compat;
{
    struct filedesc *fdp = p->p_fd;
    struct file *fp;
    struct sockaddr *sa;
    int namelen, error, s;
    struct socket *head, *so;
    int fd;
    short fflag;        /* type must match fp->f_flag */
    /* this is the exploit portion */
    if (uap->name) {
        error = copyin((caddr_t)uap->anamelen, (caddr_t)&namelen,
            sizeof (namelen));
        if(error)
            return (error); /* patch adds two lines below this */
    }

One point:
  1. Every other function in this uipc_syscalls.c starts with the comment /* ARGSUSED */ and also has the args struct commented out like accept1 above. I assuming this is an omission error with this one argument at this point.
My questions: