twitch.tv video not loading on firefox

clawhammer

Active Member

Reaction score: 6
Messages: 172

I have gnome3 installed and youtube videos play but when I go to twitch.tv and select a stream the player is blank. I reset all my history in firefox but that didnt work. Does anyone know what twitch isnt working?
 

meine

Active Member

Reaction score: 48
Messages: 107

It could be that twitch.tv needs the Widevine DLL to play its (DRM?) content. www/firefox on FreeBSD has no implementation for it as opposed to other operating systems, other browsers here (can, not tested) have the same challenge.

I encountered the same problem, the solution is posted in another thread on this forum (<-- click the red text to get there).

As using an external program like multimedia/mpv maybe feels like you have to make stupid extra mouse clicks, but this dedicated multimedia viewer gives a much better picture to watch! After all a browser is like a Swiss army knife, but not a multimedia player...
 

meine

Active Member

Reaction score: 48
Messages: 107

Do they? Where exactly?
Excuse my bad English that could have caused confusion: I don’t know for sure that twitch.tv needs Widevine, but as the symptoms -- not playing a media stream -- are the same, I suspect a DRM-ish media stream.
 

shkhln

Aspiring Daemon

Reaction score: 307
Messages: 933

Code:
Object { name: "BindingError", message: "Cannot pass non-string to std::string", stack: "BindingError: Cannot pass non-string to std::string\npe/n<@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:23752\nBindingError@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js line 1 > Function:4:34\nge@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:24689\ntoWireType@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:43043\nwrite@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:35961\ntoWireType@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:36198\n@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:38669\nz/</t<@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:37516\nWebMediaPlayer@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js line 1 > Function:4:34\nc</e.prototype.dispatch/this.activePlayers[r]<@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:65215\ne@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:2801\nc</e.prototype.dispatch@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:65161\nc</e.prototype.ready@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:65657\nonRuntimeInitialized@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:64748\ne@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:62497\ndn@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:62885\ne@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:64116\nt@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:21066\nr@https://static.twitchcdn.net/assets/wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:21086\n" }
wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:65476

TypeError: this.activePlayers[r] is undefined
2 wasmworker.min-d765afefb035f54cd619.js:1:65476
As far as I can see that site is just broken in Firefox.
 

nrgmilk

New Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 11

Both Fireox and Chromium can play.

Chromium's user-agent string contain "Linux" then os detects "Linux".
But Firefox user-agent sring is not contain "Linux" only "FreeBSD".

if chaned user-agent, It can play on Firefox too.
 

andersbo87

Member

Reaction score: 4
Messages: 62

Both Fireox and Chromium can play.

Chromium's user-agent string contain "Linux" then os detects "Linux".
But Firefox user-agent sring is not contain "Linux" only "FreeBSD".

if chaned user-agent, It can play on Firefox too.
Thanks for the tip, nrgmilk !
A small tip if you, like me, couldn't change the user agent in Firefox manually (I must have done something wrong):

There's an extension for Firefox, called User-Agent Switcher that can be installed. To get it to change the user agent to Linux, click the new icon, then under "Select Web Browser", click the Firefox icon. Then under Select Operating System, click the Linux icon (the penguin icon).

When I changed the user agent to Linux, I got Twitch to work again on my Firefox browser. :)
 
Top