Transmission download file permission

Hey all,

I'm rather new to Freebsd FreeBSD, and the *nix world in general. I've built myself a file/download server and all has been ok for now, but I'm confused with the way Transmission is creating folder and privileges. It seems that when I set a file to download, the folder it creates, sets its permissions as root, so I cannot delete the file over my network without having to SSH into the box and using chmod 777 on the folder.

For the shared folder I'm using Samba (which I'm still trying to figure out for the most part) shares for my windows network, using a user name, NFS, as the login account to the share (I used a tutorial on ZFSguru, and used there same settings).

Is there a way to change this? A setting in Transmission that changes what account it uses to create the new directories?

Install sudo. Create a user. Edit the sudoers file adding the user to it. Install Transmission as the user using sudo. Do not run FreeBSD as root. Always create a user and use the sudo command. Working as root all config files go in /root and not in /home/user. They have different permissions.

Ok, reinstalled it under a non root account

But I still can't delete the folders Transmission makes, says I now require permission from Unix user/transmission. I'm confused now how I would set my network login account to have equal permissions as transmission.

Simple solution, no sudo or anything else needed. Set a download directory in transmission. I'm using /storage/media/transmission/Downloads/ but you can use any directory you want. The important things are its permissions.

Set it to:
Code:
root@molly:~#ls -ld /storage/media/transmission/Downloads/
drwxrwxr-x  46 transmission  transmission  476 Apr 29 20:49 /storage/media/transmission/Downloads/

Note the write permissions on the group transmission. Now add your user to that group:
[cmd=]pw groupmod transmission -m dice[/cmd]