Solved Think I messed something up (Xorg or Slim)

Hi There!

First of all I'm a newbie so bare with me :)
I have installed Xorg, MATE and mate-desktop. I have also added in dbus_enable, hald and slim in rc.conf.

But! After boot it just become black. Any ideas? And is there some way I can abort the automatic login so I can access the console?

Sorry for misspelling and odd words posting from Phone with swedish wordlist.

One thing you really need to learn, as you're going to use it often, is to boot to single user mode. Press enter when asked about the shell then, for ZFS:
Code:
zfs mount -a
zfs set readonly=off zroot # Replace zroot with the name of your pool
For UFS:
Code:
mount -u /
mount -a

After these commands you can modify /etc/rc.conf and disable GDM or Slim.

A lot of the time booting to single user mode is the only way to fix things when it all goes belly up. Learning the commands will really help you in sticky situations ;)

Thanks for that, now to the next issue. The black screen.

I have tried startx, and mate-session.
startx gives a black screen and mate-session gives
Code:
** cannot open display

My driver is Intel HD 4000.

Xorg and x11/mate was downloaded with pkg install mate.

Thanks

Hi!

sysctl kern.vty:
Code:
kern.vty: vt

uname -a:
Code:
FreeBSD BSD-jimmy 11.0-CURRENT Freebsd 11.0-CURRENT #0 r285794: Wed Jul 22 16:58:53 UTC 2015 root@releng2.nyi.freebsd.org:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC amd64

Is there a reason you are using 11-CURRENT? Things frequently change or break on a daily basis in CURRENT. It's the bleeding edge of FreeBSD development only meant to be used by experienced users and developers.

Oo. I thought current was the latest one... So no reason - I bit stressed when I downloaded the img. Is it somehow possible to downgrade to the more stable version or do I have to make a new install?