Theoretical question about lagg

Hello guys, I'm totally new with FreeBSD. Looking for something just to start with, I decided to try FreeNAS.
I read about lagg, both the man and the handbook but I didn't find the specific answer I need.
I own a cheap unmanaged switch, without any support to 802.3ad or Cisco EtherChannel, and I just would like to know if there is a mode which provide load balancing with it.
"loadbalance" mode looks pretty similar to "balance-alb" mode of the linux channel bonding driver, which fits my situation.
Does anybody know if I'm right or not? Thanks!

gordon@: Sorry, but I don't agree with you.
In my experience with channel bonding in linux I saw that almost all modes I set up "worked", even if they had not been supported by my hardware. I mean that the connection is established and the communication doesn't seem to have any problem. But beyond appearances a not supported mode actually can give several problems (like out-of-order packet delivery, i.e.) those result in a performace loss. I would like That's why just trying a configuration is not useful for me. ;)

DutchDaemon: I thought my question could be useful even for those who are interested in FreeBSD in general, since lagg is a feature of the os and not only of FreeNAS. Was I wrong?

No, as long as you're aware that your mileage may vary, because FreeNAS differs from FreeBSD in many ways.

lagg does load-balancing and fail-over. I saw a clip where one of the OpenBSD devs was running two connections, one wired and one wireless, to an audio server. (Lagg being imported from OpenBSD this is applicable)

I played around a bit with them, and it worked quite well. Like you I was using cheap switches and old network cards.

mix_room said:
lagg does load-balancing and fail-over. I saw a clip where one of the OpenBSD devs was running two connections, one wired and one wireless, to an audio server. (Lagg being imported from OpenBSD this is applicable)