Solved The Legacy Releases?

Hi,

I am new to FreeBSD. I am using a rolling release Linux distribution as desktop OS, and hosting a personal blog on a point release Linux distribution. Now because of some advantages I heard, I would like to try FreeBSD.

General speaking, my question is: What does "Legacy Releases" mentioned on Release Information refer to? I can only see the links of "Production Releases".

Here are some background information:

I would like to have newest features on my desktop and keep stability on my blog server. After read some documentations and thread, these are what I have understood:

1. There are three branches of FreeBSD: FreeBSD-CURRENT and FreeBSD-STABLE and FreeBSD-RELEASE, and only the last one is production ready.
  2. The base system is divided from ports and packages, which means no matter which branch of base system I chose, I can always stably use the newest third-party software with "Latest" repository or stable software with "Quarterly" repository.
So I would like to chose FreeBSD-RELEASE and follow "Latest" repository on my desktop and "Quarterly" repository on my blog server.

That looks good, but I suddenly noticed "Production Releases" and "Legacy Releases" on Release Information page. According to the introduction, the "Legacy Releases" seems to be more stable, so it may be more suitable for the server.

But I can't get any further information about the so-called "Legacy Releases", since both 11.4 and 12.1 are "Production Releases".

I am really confused about it, any clarification would be greatly appreciated.

General speaking, my question is: What does "Legacy Releases" mentioned on Release Information refer to? I can only see the links of "Production Releases".
A legacy release is the previous, still supported, major version. At the moment 12.x is the latest release, and 11.x is the legacy release. Unless you have a good reason not to you should always use the latest major version for new systems.