subpixel hinting and font smoothing

I have been using linux for more than a year and reached freebsd FreeBSD 9.0-RC3 from ubuntu>fedora>archlinux>FreeBSD.

I am a fan of subpixel hinting and font smoothing and since I was able to have that in all of the linux I have tried, I wish I had it before I completely moved to freebsd FreeBSD. I have been using freebsd FreeBSD for the last two months but not able to get the font smoothness as that of linux. I do realize it's not unachievable, because I have seen it on this website
http://freebsd.kde.org/img/screenshots/en_andyfawcett_kde410-1.png which is very similar to what I currently have in archlinux.

What I have tried until now:

1. followed this guide, but still it's not good enough and not up to the level of arch linux http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=2021&highlight=fontconfig
  2. tried creating a .fonts.conf file in my user folder (both as user and root accounts) and copied the arch linux fonts.conf but it's not satisfactory either. Maybe the font conf for arch and FreeBSD differ so much.
It's not like I revel in eyecandy, but obviously after some time working in freebsd FreeBSD it strains my eyes because of the fonts.

I figured out something in the meantime from the mailing list and had a setup.

Reply to aragon:

I tried your step already. Not much of a difference. I have already installed webfonts, URW, truetype, loaded truetype in xorg.conf.

Reply to oops: