Storytime: My new internship - Advice?

Well, the post was an interesting anecdote into the life of a 2024 intern, and I trust I made my position clear early on. To go off on a tangent rant, I've been doing systems design since the 1980s and I cannot tolerate environments where the IT minions treat me as a security risk and wont let me administer my own development resources. Cannot tell you how many times I've shown up at a new contract customer site, only to be given some crappy office intern netbook, running windoze, totally locked down to where I cannot even stick anything in the USB slots, and then told to do firmware/OS level systems design. I'm beginning to walk out quickly with more and more frequency as that attitude become more common.

IMHO, it's all about IT being lazy. Back when I had to sysadmin large unix systems and do network management, we were not ALLOWED to restrict developers from having root access on development systems. My rule was, you get sudo (minus root shell). I expect an email stating what and why, if you make any system change. If you don't keep me in the loop, or you do a root shell to bypass sudo logging then you lose root access. I only had put on the gloves on once, with a couple of Oracle database devs who thought they ran things. I ended up quitting because management sided with them.

Other laziness with IT is that they either dont know how, or dont want the overhead of sandboxing the development subnet and then letting us r&d guys manage it.

And don't get me started on VMs running under windoze. You dont do firmware or simulation software under VMs, ever!

Probly a good thing I'm at the end of the rat race...not sure how much more I can tolerate.