Stories of foolishness?

I just locked myself out of su on my headless server using pw usermod USER -G operator. I tried plugging in a monitor, but it's not getting a signal. I should have had a second terminal open as root so I could fix it. Now I have to reboot and hope the graphics card still works. I know the root password, so it shouldn't be a problem to get back in, but is there any way to resolve this without rebooting?

Also, what foolish things have you done on FreeBSD, and how would you mitigate that risk in the future?

From the Windows world of remote desktops I observed the practice of people installing big fat warning wallpapers on production servers to keep them from doing the stupid, like shutting the box down. All shells on UNIX look essentially the same, as I learned in the late 1990's when I did a hard shutdown on the wrong physical box with no remote hands and no car available. I lost a day of traveling to/from the colo by public transportation. I was a student back then. I learned things that day. That was when I changed the appearance of my shell prompt on production environments versus test environments. Fortunately working as root in any capacity on a production environment has become the exception.

Connecting a monitor will be the best option. Other option is to reboot and try to login blindly using root and then add your user back to wheel group.

Reboot the server instead of the local machine. I did one time in 2001, then I've got the OCD to check out the hostname before doing that. :D

rm * ~ to remove the backups.
This was before version control for the part of the tree, so I had to rewrite the complete code in there from scratch.

But you removed the backups, why you complain?!

BTW, I think, I also use from time to time rm *~, although I know I should not, and I think also did once your error.
Now I tend to use X11 copy and paste to put the files to erase, or use shell completion and complete.