ZFS Storage scheme with 4+1 (12+TB) drives

Hello there,

I am building a new home media server using HP Microserver N40L w/ 8Gb RAM + 4 x 3Tb WD green HDDs + 1 x 256Gb SSD. Basically I intend to use it for personal data (only 1Tb at the most) that need redundancy plus everything else without the need of redundancy (like 4K movies, games, etc.).

I'm pretty new to FreeBSD and trying to wrap my head around ZFS: what would be the optimal storage scheme with these 4 + 1 drives for a home server? The SSD is for the OS (with way too much overhead of course) but what about the rest? I really don't care about possible data loss *above* that 1Tb data regarding my movies etc. By the way, I will use NextCloud + Plex too.

Thanks for any helpful insight in advance.

Thank you for the quick reply but with what level of RAIDZ exactly? And what about mirror vdev(s) perhaps?

With level RAID-Z1.
If you choose to use mirror you will lose too much storage space. In RAID-Z1 with configuration of 4 disks each of 3TB the usable space is 9TB. In mirrored Vdev Zpool will be two mirrors x 3 TB or total of 6TB usable storage space.

OOPS EDIT: When I first wrote this, I thought you were going to use four 12TB drives. Now I see that you have 12TB total = four 3TB drives. Quite a few updates from that.

On the important data, where you said you "need redundancy": How valuable is your data? How big would the damage be if one file, or the whole file system was gone? How much work would it be to restore from an off-site backup (which you certainly have if your data is actually valuable)? How disruptive would be a multi-day outage while you rebuild your system and restore from backup? Most likely the answer is: You really don't want to take that risk.