Stable and Release

Hello,

I'm fairly new to FreeBSD. Using packages only, on a lappy.
As far as I understand it, FreeBSD is separated in 2 - base system and packages.
Today I ran portaudit and it showed 17 packages with flaws (using the default RELEASE packages, without setting anything with PACKAGESITE).
My question is, is it ok to point PACKAGESITE to 7.0-Stable and upgrade these packages, while having the base system at 7.0-RELEASE; is this going to break the system anyhow? Will I be able to upgrade then to 7.1-RELEASE after it is released within a few months, with the mixed system I'm going to have?
So, basically, is it OK to have the base system at 'RELEASE' and the packages at 'STABLE'?

"base"; then ( /ports/ OR ports-via-packages OR mix)

portaudit, vulnerabilities within the packages_OR_ports
packages are less recent than ports. To "maybe fix" portaudit you
would install ports not packages, but even the ports Makefiles/etc
lag behind somewhat the fixes for the vulnerabilities.
stable, release, can refer to the "uname -a" base version
as well as the source of packages
leaving out a few explanations I don't have time to think
through before typing...

Thank you for your answers; it was just this info that I needed; I'm going to try it. Thanks again.

It is possible, but there are problems. I learned them in a hard way. -- I'm just a beginner user so please correct me if I said anything wrong.
When you set your PACKAGESITE to stable, you can pkg_add -r someapplication, but it will need other dependencies, and the version of your system will not match in most case -- since 7.0 release is not new. Then your pkg install will fail because pkg_add will not install needed new pkg automatically, you can force install the application but it will have problem for sure.