Sony-made VAIO VPCCB17FG wireless chip issues

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

Code:
Laptop basics:
i7-2620M cores
AMD graphics
7.45GiB RAM’s
953GiB total SSD’s
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200806-r363935-memstick.img: Failed (for both CloverEFI and legacy BIOS modes)
Below those are untested
Code:
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200806-r363935-disc1.iso
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200730-r363681-memstick.img
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200723-r363439-memstick.img
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200716-r363236-memstick.img
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200730-r363681-disc1.iso
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200723-r363439-disc1.iso
FreeBSD-13.0-CURRENT-amd64-20200716-r363236-disc1.iso
As the screensnap told to me, the failed media were always stuck at ACPI/APIC then were no longer reacted to the laptop
photo_2020-08-12_17-14-29.jpg
 

Alexander88207

Active Member

Reaction score: 51
Messages: 120

Maybe you need to change something in /boot/device.hints ? For example I need to unset hint.uart.1.at to boot my laptop.
 

aponomarenko

Active Member

Reaction score: 41
Messages: 112

Please try to boot with additional option hw.x2apic_enable=0
Select "Escape to loader prompt" and type:

Code:
set hw.x2apic_enable=0
boot
 

aponomarenko

Active Member

Reaction score: 41
Messages: 112

Thanks for the info. While we are investigating the problem, please boot Ubuntu 20 Live on your laptop, install this package and upload your hardware diagnostics info by this command line. This will help us to quickly check support status of particular hardware components.
 

aponomarenko

Active Member

Reaction score: 41
Messages: 112

(da0:umass-sim0:0:0:0): CAM status: CCB request completed with an error
Please also try:

1. Different USB-port
2. Different USB drive (are you booting from a USB drive?)
3. Boot with kern.cam.ada.write_cache=0
 
OP
HD Scania

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

But it rises another issue, the wifi networks are always down somewhy, and i don’t have any fallbacks for wireless network configs in rc.conf or loader.conf
The wifi chip is run in terms of ath0 drivers (no hardware issues are), but even thru sudo bsdconfig it still doesn’t connect again to any wifi networks at all
Due to the dead wireless networks Plasma is always being dead (but SDDM and KDE apps not dead), going to instead get it fixed at XFCE, Enlightenment, or Lumina, even if started under SDDM it’s still frozen somewhy
photo_2020-08-18_21-29-47.jpg
 
Last edited:
OP
HD Scania

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

The wireless issue was gone too, but the XFCE shell was NO mice available with the touchpad disabled, i have TWO USB and wireless mice but BOTH were NOT working
And finally, the Plasma shell was blunk in black, so i’m yet to need to also test out Enlightenment and Lumina i’ve also installed on FreeBSD, alongside Plasma and XFCE
 
OP
HD Scania

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

And it suggests moused type for USB mice MUST be auto, aka moused_type=auto in rc.conf :)
Btw tried to install NomadBSD but actually installing it DESTROYS everything on your SSD’s, so never done installing :(
 
OP
HD Scania

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

And the wikies and the forums have mentioned too little on setting up USB wireless mice, and i don’t think my USB wireless mice have been working
Both Fujitsu and Logitech are not working on Linux but working on FuryBSD (just a setup for installing FreeBSD with a desktop),
Again and finally, both are USB and wirelessly connected and used, and both just need ONE AA-sized chargeable battery
 

Attachments

OP
HD Scania

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

And now i fully lost access to the X server (as of SDDM always saying Abort trap), but the wireless networks are always working
Finally i have boot1.efi (first stage driver), loader.efi (final stage driver), gptboot.efi (full stages driver) on my ESP
All three sometimes start X sometimes don’t, but as of always needing to start X, which among them is better?
 
OP
HD Scania

HD Scania

Member

Reaction score: 2
Messages: 36

That line of /boot/loader.conf just crashes my batteries, which lines are the replacements?
Please try to boot with additional option hw.x2apic_enable=0
Select "Escape to loader prompt" and type:
Code:
set hw.x2apic_enable=0
boot
 
Top