Solved [Solved] Configuration Files

Hello,

I am new to FreeBSD and have several questions about configuration files. I've looked for the answers through multiple searches and forum posts but haven't found them, although that may be because I haven't used the right search terms. Any answers as well as suggestions on how to find answers to questions such as this would be much appreciated.

Numerical values as in the example below are not quoted because they are not text - they are numerical values... is that correct? Or does quoting them do anything?

Code:
kern.hz=100

I am also confused by having seen different styles and capitalization, with an arbitrary example below:
Code:
WITH_NEW_XORG=YES

My questions here are:
1) Does capitalization matter on either side of the "=" sign, and if not, is there an "official" or preferred style?
2) What are the differences between using "YES" or "ON" or "TRUE"? Is one form "better" than the others?
3) Some files use "NO" or "OFF" or "FALSE". Why is it explicitly spelled out in some cases and not others, and again, is one form "better" than the other?

Finally, some configuration files mention using tabs over spaces, while others do not. If I don't intend to migrate my configuration files to other operating systems, does it make any difference as a practical matter which one I choose?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

ES

Re: Configuration Files

ExpatSailor said:
Hello,

I am new to FreeBSD and have several questions about configuration files. I've looked for the answers through multiple searches and forum posts but haven't found them, although that may be because I haven't used the right search terms. Any answers as well as suggestions on how to find answers to questions such as this would be much appreciated.

Numerical values as in the example below are not quoted because they are not text - they are numerical values... is that correct? Or does quoting them do anything?

Code:
kern.hz=100