Software installation

I'm totally new to FreeBSD and from what I've heard its the preferred server OS. I'm trying to check it out for myself ;)

My question is two-fold. Where should this particular problem be posted and what is the answer to this problem?

Problem:

I'm following this how to: http://www.imarc.net/communique/view/52/run_your_own_unix_web_server_part_2_of_3 and everything was smooth sailing until I hit this brick wall. ./configure is not a command to be found. I don't know why. Googling for hours now, I can't figure out how to go about solving this.

This is on FreeBSD 6.3 by the way and the downloaded software are MySQL 5.1.40, Apache 2.2.14 and PHP-5.3 (obviously, none of these is installed yet...)

I'm not a total newbie, coming from a predominantly windoze background with some linux (I'm actually trying to leave windoze)

Forum:
Couldn't tell if this should be in the installation or the ports forum. I'll be more than happy to move the thread to another one.

TIA

SMIM

Use the ports system to install third party applications whenever possible.

Ports maintainers already spent a good deal of time porting those applications to FreeBSD so there's no point in re-inventing the wheel.

SirDice's link will get you started :).

Yep, stick with ports unless you have a real reason not to (such as php 5.3 not being in ports yet). Also might want to upgrade to 7.2-STABLE because 6 is... old :p

Many thanks!

Yeah, somehow, I figured that I got the short end of the stick when I started doing things all on my own!

MySQL I installed through ports, and now that I got back I'm working through the rest to get a webserver up and running.

Thanks to everyone :)

Tangram, I'm doing this on a VM whilst 7.2 downloads. I live in Jordan at the moment where decent bandwidth is a luxury and these where the only CDs I had, so this more of a dry run.

One question, how would you rate FreeBSD (as opposed to PcBSD or linux) as a desktop/workstation platform for development?