SMB over WAN and VPN

I have read many comments and threads on the net that the SMB/CIFS protocol is not a good idea to implement under WAN due to high latencies.

But I want to expose the following, I am a student but at the same time I work in a company giving IT support under the category "Junior" Well in our IT room we have some synology equipment and some servers working with proxmox, the VPNs work with SonicWall.

Well, in this company they use the SMB/CIFS protocol under the VPN to share information at a national level with the other offices distributed throughout the country.

On the other hand, I think that Azure offers service with SMB 3.0x at the WAN level if I'm not mistaken.

Is that my question, how crazy is it to have a stage like that? I don't understand, why so many comments of "No, SMB is not for that..." Could it be that the company I work for is not doing things right? I was very surprised to see this kind of scenario.

For example, I have an r320 at home under ZFS and it works with samba, I am waiting for an r220 to configure it as a router, I would also like it to be a VPN and I would like to do something similar for practice. But for example when I was reading an example on the oracle website about ZFS snapshots, apparently you can send them through SSH, so it makes me understand that SSH can be used to share data, but at the SMB or NFS level? I understand that it is not only used to make specific file transfers, right? sorry for the ignorance.

I know of protocols like SFTP, but isn't it the same as SSHD from freebsd?

On the other hand when I do a snapshot transfer or whatever with ssh or even netcat, don't the latencies affect it as negatively as SMB?

Thanks.

But for example when I was reading an example on the oracle website about ZFS snapshots, apparently you can send them through SSH