shared object "libcrypto.so.7" not found

Last night we installed a new UPS unit, which meant shutting down all our servers.

Our FTP server runs on FreeBSD and when it was brought back up we get shared object "libcrypto.so.7" not found message for the Proftpd, NTPD, SSHD, and SENDMAIL all fail to start because of this. So the FTP server is now in a non-working state.

I did a locate libcrypto.so.7 the result was:
/usr/lib32/libcrypto.so.7

I tried to create a sym link to libcrypto.so.7 but when I tried to start the packages it said the file was not correct.

What do I need to do get the correct libcrypto.so.7 back in place and allow all the dependent programs to run again?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Curt Winter

Last edited by a moderator:
What kind of information do you need? I am new to the FreeBSD as a Certified Microsoft Professional I am a bit out of my zone. Please let me know what I can provide to help the troubleshooting process.

Thank you.

Curt Winter

It might help if we knew which version of FreeBSD you are running and which architecture you are running on. You can probably get most of the useful info that would help by running the command
Code:
uname -a
and pasting whatever output appears here on the forum.

My guess as to what happened is perhaps the services were upgraded, but for some reason the underlying dependencies were not updated at the same time. (This mailing list post talks about the possibility: http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/freebsd-current/2012-July/035535.html)

You might try backing up your configuration files and doing a re-install of the affected services.

By the way, welcome to the world of FreeBSD.

More specifically, from the FreeBSD command prompt, run the following to download the file.
Code:
fetch ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/10.0-RELEASE/base.txz
Using tar as follows will unpack it.
Code:
tar xzf base.txz

Using tar as follows will unpack it.
Code:
tar xzf base.txz