Setting up Squirrel Mail

Right well I am in the process of setting up a mail server using freebsd and am discovering it is harder then I thought it would be! The setup I am using makes use of Posfix, Squirrel mail and dovecot. As I am new to this I am not sure what config files you guys will need to see to help me out, but let me know and I'll get them up ASAP! The guide I used is here as it is the best guide I have been able to find for a mail server up to now. If anyone can suggest a more concise tutorial that would be great as I feel things seem ambigious in places!

http://www.purplehat.org/?page_id=4

Hoping you guys can help me figure this out as I haven't a good idea of why it is happening! Well I have some ideas but because I'm new I don't really understand it well enough to fix it!

The error below is what I get when I try to run

Code:
http://mymachine/squirrelmail/src/configtest.php

Code:
Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: unable to connect to tls://localhost:993 (Connection refused) in 
/usr/local/www/apache22/data/squirrelmail/src/configtest.php on line 405
ERROR: Error connecting to IMAP server "localhost:993".Server error: (61) Connection refused

Thanks again for any help you guys can give!

Do you need TLS over localhost, really? Try regular IMAP, port 143, and make sure Dovecot is actually running on localhost ([cmd=]sockstat -l4p 993[/cmd] and/or [cmd=]sockstat -l4p 143[/cmd]).

Hi, found the reason it wouldn't start, one of the lines I needed to comment out was still live. Also when editing this file I have to open it in terminal as even when logged in as root on Gnome it won't let me edit the file in Gedit which makes it easier to make errors.

Here is the error I get when I start dovecot now -
Code:
RinicomTestServer# dovecot
Warning: Last died with error (see error log for more information): Auth process died too early - shutting down
Info: If you have trouble with authentication failures,