Python Setting python modules path?

FreeBSD 13.1-REL
Python 3.11 (installed from packages)
VS Code OSS 1.70.2 (installed from packages)

I'm a beginner python programmer, so please be gentle. I've been working through Python exercises using the VS Code IDE. Although FreeBSD had Python 3.9 baked-in, I wanted to learn on the latest version so I installed Python 3.11. So now I have both it and 3.9 co-existing. That has seemed fine.

I'm learning to use pytest now, and while the tutorials instruct installing it via pip, it seems pip on FreeBSD is a bit of a minefield. It seems the recommended way is to install things from packages/ports when possible. I did find py-pytest in packages so I installed that. It runs fine from the command line manually, although it's configured to use Python 3.9. That hasn't seemed to be an issue.

However, now I need to be able to include pytest in code while working in the VS Code IDE. It doesn't seem to be able to find pytest using its normal methods. I do have the Python path set to /usr/local/bin/python3.11 which has been working fine. I also see that pytest is installed in /usr/local/bin . How do I get python3.11 (or perhaps it's VS Code) to be able to find pytest so that I can "import pytest"?

Thanks!

The modules for "import" are found in /usr/local/lib/pythonX.Y/..., but which python interpreter is run by default is decided by the series of softlinks python -> python3 -> python3.X.

You could try to use the pytest imports for version 3.9 with the rest of the 3.11 installation. Read about the "module path". I think that is a bad idea, and will probably cause bizarre problems that will be hard to debug.

Since you are a beginner, I would suggest: SIMPLIFY. Why exactly do you want to use 3.11? Can you list a specific feature that you really want or need? If not, why not do your studying on just 3.9? The differences really aren't very big. Stick to 3.9 and use it consistently, getting most python add-ons from packages.