sending a variable through a regex in exim

Hi folks.
I am a total beginner at regex.
I want to specify a variable in my exim config, and I want the variable to contain a domain if $header_from contains that domain from a choice of good domains.
So I could do
Code:
myvariable = $header_from
so if the from address in an email is name@domain1.com then myvariable would contain name@domain1.com
I have been messing with some regex web sites and found that
Code:
/(domain1)|(domain2)
would return "domain1" if the input contains "domain1" and "domain2" if the input contains "domain2".
How do I write the complete regex
Code:
myvariable = $header_from   filtered by  (domain1)|(domain2)
?
I would like the "myvariable" to contain either "domain1", "domain2", or nothing.

Basically I don't know how to feed one thing through another in an expression.

I know that there are corner cases like if someone has an email address domain1something@domain2 but I can live with that.

I am only using for my own email addresses so I can just make sure that doesn't happen.

thanks, DNJ

I don't know anything about exim, but this page indicates that it comes with a tool for testing regexes.

A program called `pcretest' forms part of the PCRE distribution and is built with PCRE during the process of building Exim...The binary can be found in the `pcre' sub-directory of the Exim build directory.

I would run some tests with that to make sure your regex is absolutely correct before adding it to the configuration.

I think you should only use one set of () around both options because () captures whatever matches inside. I'm just guessing, but maybe try something like this to start:

Bash:
re> /(amazon.com|google.com)/g
data> email@google.com
0: google.com

re> /(.+@amazon.com|.+@google.com)/g
data> email@google.com
0: email@google.com

A specific example:
This works in my exim config
Code:
dkim_domain = ${sender_address_domain}
but I want to do something like this
Code: