FluxBox Select fluxbox

I'm new to FreeBSD. My aim is to switch its default twm window manager to fluxbox. I installed xorg and fluxbox. I can start X system OK.
I created a .xinitrc file for both root and user and entered the line: exec /usr/local/bin/startfirefox. But when I startX I only get the twm window
manager. # pkg info indicates that fluxbox is installed but installation did not create a .fluxbox directory. With FreeBSD does fluxbox
installation automatically create the .fluxbox directory? Do I need to check to see if all the dependencies are installed?

If that's not a typo, that's what happened. You put startfirefox which isn't a command and so it starts twm by default.

It should be
Code:
exec startfluxbox

Is that a typo in your posting or do you have startfirefox set there instead of startfluxbox?
That was indeed a typo. Sorry. Problem starting fluxbox is that twm starts before it does. Where is the default window manager selected?
I do not run any desktop environment.

Thanks T-Daemon. That did it. I had never looked at man startx to realize its capabilities. Incidentally I see that
starting fluxbox does create its .fluxbox directory. I found that I already had x11/xinit installed, and so in xinitrc I simply
commented the twm line and added line with path to startfluxbox. But startx by itself fails to load fluxbox. One problem
seems to be absence of a .serverath file in user's home directory, this did not seem to hat the loading process. But thern
xinit: connection to X server lost. I find that my fluxbox manager on FreeBSD lacks a right mouse button menu
needed to configure fluxbox.

The serverauth file generates error messages but shouldn't stop it from starting. The startx command does a lot of things, and may, for example, take awhile if it can't find the hostname. What happens if you just do
Code:
xinit
instead of startx?

Also, do you have the usual files inside your ~/.fluxbox directory such as menu?