Solved Security: How safe is a password prompt versus a key

Hi,

Preparing an external disk with geli and a possible ZFS native encrypted dataset, I wonder how safe is a password prompt vs using a key.

An encrypted disk with GELI and a native encrypted ZFS can be setup with a password prompt or a key file. I would think that password prompts which are entered via the keyboard or the clipboard from a password manager, are vulnerable for keyloggers. When a keyfile is used I suppose that file can be found and is vulnerable too.

- I am not an expert but what is the best choice?
- As above explained examples have no way to read it from smartcards or hardware token directly, how safe are they?

Best Regards,

R

Preparing an external disk with geli and a possible ZFS native encrypted dataset
Well. Don't store the key on a USB stick and keep the external disk and USB stick together. Or put a sticker on it with the password.

I wonder how safe is a password prompt vs using a key.
Ideally you want to do both. Something you have (the key) and something you know (the password).

An encrypted disk with GELI and a native encrypted ZFS can be setup with a password prompt or a key file.
Password prompt and/or key file. You can set this up requiring both.

I would think that password prompts which are entered via the keyboard or the clipboard from a password manager, are vulnerable for keyloggers. When a keyfile is used I suppose that file can be found and is vulnerable too.
Sure. That's why you do both. The key is useless without the password and the password is useless without the key.

Hi,

In reaction to your answer, SirDice. Just thinking out loud.

• Can a prompt be trusted, I mean suppose a keylogger or some bot is gathering input from the keyboard?