Safe mode

Hello,

I am a FreeBSD newbie. I have a headless server, which I want to run FreeBSD on and so I have borrowed a monitor. I was not able to install release 8.0 using default, no-apci or safe mode, but I was able to install release 7.2 in safe mode. I suspect the problem is the servers harddrive, which is quite old. Could that be the case? Of course I would like to find out if that is true, but first I want to be able to shut down the server, so my question is: How do I make the server automatically boot in safe mode?

Best regards, Fleet

I think you need to add the following to /boot/loader.conf:
Code:
hint.acpi.0.disabled=1
hint.apic.0.disabled=1
hint.kbdmux.0.disabled=1
hw.ata.ata_dma=0
hw.ata.atapi_dma=0
hw.ata.wc=0
hw.eisa_slots=0

Call it safemode just one more time. I dare you just one more time. lol i'm just kidding you but so you know it's properly called single user mode on FreeBSD. Safe mode is for p.. well. Windoze. :)

inurneck said:
Call it safemode just one more time. I dare you just one more time. lol i'm just kidding you but so you know it's properly called single user mode on FreeBSD. Safe mode is for p.. well. Windoze. :)
No, actually FreeBSD does have a "safe" mode. Look at the bootup menu next time you reboot.

I take fault. I never noticed that maybe I should open my eyes, is it different from single user mode? Did they start naming it that within the last 5 years? Thats when I used it last and I never heard it called safe mode is all. See cause it's freebsd I spend too much time inside the system and not booting it like other os's hehe. (that's my story and i'm sticking to it.)

lol, no prob. I think it came at some point in the 5.x release cycle? Can't remember.

It is different to single user mode. It boots the system all the way, and disables those kernel features I pasted above. Single user mode leaves them enabled and doesn't boot any of the userland.