Ruby is giving me a headache

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Let me start off by stating that I have zero knowledge when it comes to Ruby. But I'm at a client installing things and I've run into a potential show stopper.

I have to use Ruby 1.8.7 and an older version of Rails. Yes, the client should upgrade but we simply cannot test dozens of websites on short notice. So I'm stuck with it.

This works as expected:
Code:
root@j-build-amd64:~# gem18 install rails --version=2.3.18
Fetching: rake-10.1.0.gem (100%)
Fetching: activerecord-2.3.18.gem (100%)
Fetching: rack-1.1.6.gem (100%)
Fetching: actionpack-2.3.18.gem (100%)
Fetching: actionmailer-2.3.18.gem (100%)
Fetching: activeresource-2.3.18.gem (100%)
Fetching: rails-2.3.18.gem (100%)
Successfully installed rake-10.1.0
Successfully installed activesupport-2.3.18
Successfully installed activerecord-2.3.18
Successfully installed rack-1.1.6
Successfully installed actionpack-2.3.18
Successfully installed actionmailer-2.3.18
Successfully installed activeresource-2.3.18
Successfully installed rails-2.3.18
8 gems installed

But I'm having issues with acts_as_audited:
Code:
root@j-build-amd64:~# gem18 install acts_as_audited --version=1.1.1
Fetching: acts_as_audited-1.1.1.gem (100%)
Fetching: i18n-0.6.4.gem (100%)
Fetching: multi_json-1.7.7.gem (100%)
Fetching: tzinfo-0.3.37.gem (100%)
Fetching: minitest-4.7.5.gem (100%)
Fetching: atomic-1.1.10.gem (100%)
Building native extensions.  This could take a while...
Fetching: thread_safe-0.1.2.gem (100%)
Fetching: activesupport-4.0.0.gem (100%)
ERROR:  Error installing acts_as_audited:
        activesupport requires Ruby version >= 1.9.3.

Why is it trying to install activesupport-4.0.0? If I look at the dependencies it requires activesupport >= 2.1:
Code:
root@j-build-amd64:~# gem18 dependency  acts_as_audited --version=1.1.1
Gem acts_as_audited-1.1.1
  activerecord (>= 2.1)
  jnunemaker-matchy (>= 0, development)
  thoughtbot-shoulda (>= 0, development)