root login issue in KDE4

Hi all,
I am new to FreeBSD and install a virtual machine image for FreeBSD 8 on VMWare Player 3 on a Windows XP PC. I follow the instruction on How to install and configure a FreeBSD 8 Desktop with Xorg and KDE?. I install Xorg and KDE4 successfully on virtual machine. I create a normal account "pigling" and a root account. Following above link, I make a GUI auto login for my normal account. And here comes the problem.
1. I login to KDE and can't use su command. It always tell "Su: sorry" error message.
2. I can't login to KDE with my root account as it will prompt "root account can't be allowed to login" message.
3. I can't login my root account in command shell after reboot as it immediately changes to auto login screen before I can key in anything in command shell.

I try to do something in KDE login center in GUI. But I can't find where it is (can't search that in System). Now the situation is a deadlock. I need root privilege to do change but KDE doesn't let me login as root or use su command in KDE. I can only use it as a normal account. How could I solve this issue? Thanks.

regards,
pigling

just check again. My normal account not in "wheel" group or operator group. So now I lost last chance to give my normal account the privilege for su command. How can I disable KDE auto login without root privilege? The last way is to re-install the whole image, isn't it?

Go to the site that you listed. Go to step 6 (enable kdm). Depending on if you enabled it the "new" way or the "old" way here are the steps.

New way
Code:
ee /etc/rc.conf
remove the local_startup="${local_startup} /usr/local/kde4/etc/rc.d line. Also remove the kdm4_enable="YES from here.

Old way
Code:
ee /etc/ttys
scroll down to the line that you changed to "ttyv8 "/usr/X11R6/kde4/bin/kdm" xterm on secure" and change it to ttyv8 "/usr/X11R6/kde4/bin/kdm" xterm off secure"

Hi xguru,