[RESOLVED]help with sed

Hi guys,

I'm trying to write a script to do a fully automated web server installation. I would need a bit of help in trying to custom some of the values in the files. For example at the moment I am trying to replace the values in the php.inifile using
Code:
sed -i 's/memory_limit = 128M/memory_limit = 32M/g' /usr/local/etc/php.ini
This is not working and I gather it is because of the spaces. Could someone help me to work this out? I have the feeling that I might need to use regular expression here but this is on my list of things to learn. Also would I be better using awk? I am new to both of them.

Fred

Re: help with sed

No idea what devel/p5-Config-IniFiles is.. so will that be a perl script withing my sh script?

fred974 said:
No idea what devel/p5-Config-IniFiles is.. so will that be a perl script withing my sh script?
No, you write a Perl script instead of a shell script to modify your php.ini. The module is there so it's easier to work with .ini files as all the processing is done by the module.

Ha OK got you thank you.
I never written a Perl script before.. is it a big jump from shell scripting?

Yeaa, thank you @SirDice:)
A bit of googling and not much of a big effort to achieve what I wanted.
The code bellow seem to do the trick
Code:
#!/bin/sh
INIFILE="$/usr/local/etc/php.ini"
perl -p -i -e '
s/.*memory_limit.*/memory_limit = 32M/;
' "$INIFILE"
Could you please tell me if i need to add anything to it?

Last edited by a moderator:
To be honest Perl is probably a bit overkill if you're only going to change that one value. I was under the impression you had to do a lot of modifications. In that case I would go with Perl, mainly because I'm used to the language and it's been the "Swiss army chainsaw" for UNIX since forever.

Your search did have some benefit though, you can probably use that same regexp for sed(1), it'll be a lot lighter than loading a complete Perl interpreter.