Resize a partition

Hello!

First of all, I'm quite new to FreeBSD (about a month), and I'm French, so excuse me if my English is not really correct (don't hesitate to correct me ;))

I would like to resize my FreeBSD partition. I had got some other operating systems on my computer, but I removed them. So I have now a lot of free space. I wish to allocate it to FreeBSD. I found about growfs, but a part of the free space is before the OS.
How can I use the entire disk without re-installing the system please?

Thanks.

Well, if you read the handbook properly, it will tell you that when you install FreeBSD for the first time, prepare to install it once again later.

I guess it will take longer to resize the partitions than to dump(8) everything on an USB drive, partition it from scratch and restore it back. That's how I would do it.

Well, you'll be a little bit disappointed - FreeBSD is not that good with resizing partitions (or slices, as the case may be) as other OSes; especially if you have the free space before the FreeBSD partition. Not sure if even gparted can deal with it appropriately.

You could use rsync to copy the old system to new partition - depending how much free space you have and what is your FS layout right now. Or even rescue CD can help - trick is the same - create new partition, slice it , mount it somwhere and do a dump/restore or rsync -- whichever you are more comfortable with. Then you can use this system's partition for other use.

World is a better place when you use GPT instead of MBR on disks, but still doesn't solve your problem (and as of yet not possible to choose during sysinstall).

Nakal's choice suits you the best - there is just too much to deal with and it can be a big deal for a newbie.

lefta said: