replicate - Initial and continous ZFS filesystems replication

ZFS back-ups

Hi Sebulon,

I am new to the Z/os world and currently in the environment we have a lot of different ZFS's which are owned by different teams.

I am trying to work on a strategy (script) where I can take twice weekly back-ups of particular ZFS's (filter it based on the High level qualifier) on tape.

Can you provide some inputs regarding the script?

Regards

Have you considered hosting the script on Github? That way you could use Git to take care of versioning and other people could contribute or fork the code for their own purposes.

Amitra3 said:
Hi Sebulon,

I am new to the Z/os world and currently in the environment we have a lot of different ZFS's which are owned by different teams.
Hi @Amitra3, welcome to UNIX, we have daemons...and cookies:)

Amitra3 said:
I am trying to work on a strategy (script) where I can take twice weekly back-ups of particular ZFS's (filter it based on the High level qualifier) on tape.
"On tape", what do you mean by that, I don't follow. Are you working on your own script or are you trying to figure out if replicate would be a candidate from this job?

Amitra3 said:
Can you provide some inputs regarding the script?

Regards
Of course, I´ll help in any way I can.

/Sebulon

Last edited by a moderator:
cbunn said:
Have you considered hosting the script on Github? That way you could use Git to take care of versioning and other people could contribute or fork the code for their own purposes.

Sounds like a great idea, I just don't know how:)

/Sebulon

Sebulon said:
Sounds like a great idea, I just don't know how:)

/Sebulon