ZFS Recovery of Encrypted ZROOT Mirror in degraded state

Hi Guys,

I am quite new to FreeBSD and I'd like to ask you for help / recommendation for general ZFS implementation scenarios for personal workstation.

Basically, my current and desired setup is Encrypted ZROOT on two mirrored internal SATA drives. I was able to successfully install FreeBSD 11 on top of mirrored+encrypted ZFS device. Even simple test - removing physically one drive from pool - proved that ZROOT will survive the single disk outage. Nevertheless, my current problem is how to recover degraded pool where encrypted devices were present.

Current setup and state is following:

zroot
mirror-0
ada0p3.eli - unavailable ( primary ie. sata0 drive disconnected during test )
ada1p3.eli - online ( secondary ie. sata1 alive serving data )

Simple reboot will trigger re-silvering operation and fix the pool, so far so god, but I'd like to know how to recover it manually. I had no success with replace, scrub, history etc. commands.

Please can you advice how to fix "it" manually or maybe where to find what the "zfs" is exactly doing during boot / recover operation regarding to re-silvering procedure and eli devices ?

Thank you,

Petr.

No offense, but why do you pick something so advanced, if your not familiar with FreeBSD and ZFS?
I'm not a ZFS pro myself but have used it for quite some time now and I think there isn't THAT command that will do it in ZFS.
You sometimes have to "replace" a provider, another time you can just "online" it. The way to fix a problem always depends on what has happend to your pool.

Since the drive is unavailable i'd try:
Code:
zpool zroot attach ada0p3.eli
or if that won't do it, try:
Code:
zpool online zroot ada0p3.eli
You should also consider learning to use gpart and how to label your drives, to avoid pulling the wrong drive from an allready degraded mirror in the future. The ZFS basics are in the Handbook: https://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/zfs.html