raspberry with FreeBSD as NAS to backup iSCSI another raspberry

Hi, I'm a new and not expert about NAS.
What I would like to do is backup my raspberry#1 (that has raspbian stretch with domoticz), creating "image" of the whole system every XX hour on a Raspberry#2 that is the "nas" with FreeBSD.
On both raspberry (1 and 2) I would like to avoid to vrite on SD and using barryboot to use usb HDD:
now, on raspberry#1 i have raspbian stretch, and my idea, if it's possible, is:
on both raspberry i would like to use berryboot:
- on rasbperry#1 with raspbian but thanks to berryboot write on usb hdd1 (connected to raspberry1)
- on raspberry#2 with freeBSD buth thanks to berryboot write on usb hdd2 (connected to raspberry2)
with iSCSI make the image of raspberry#1 and store on HDD of raspberry#2

is it possibile?
thanks to all

Why boot from external hard disk? Why not use the SD card just as a boot/root disk, and then put a separate file system on the external hard disk? The root/boot file system gets very little write traffic, so it is a good fit for SD card.

And before you try this, you should do a little speed testing of the interfaces on the RPi. The Ethernet is only 100 base T (10 MByte/s). That's about 15 minutes of the network solidly 100% used to back up a 8GB SD card with the file system of the other RPi. In practice, it will take somewhat longer for the network part alone. You should mock up the end-to-end (RPi #1 to disk on RPi #2) connection and measure the speed, and decide whether it is appropriate for your design goals.

what i would like to implement is a iSCSI on raspberry an "raspberry NAS" due to have very small image and make the backup quick.
right now i do not have two raspberry.
only one that has SD and raspbian, so i can't perform the test.

Anyway if i buy a nas like synology (or something alse) what could be the advantage for my purpose, instead of a RPI ?

thanks so much for your help