Quite an amount of reading to do!

Newbie here.
Small introduction of myself:
I'm a person who grew up with Commodore 64, Atari, Windows 3.1, spent all his teenage years fleshing out Windows 95, 98, XP, and later 7, and who considers himself a bit of a techie; learned to use Linux in the past 10 years, learned a bit of HTML coding, and java.
Never heard anything of FreeBSD until last month.
I seriously thought I knew something of computers, but after seeing FreeBSD, I feel like I know nothing at all!

The user manual on FreeBSD is so extensive!
Really, like most, I just wanted to hop on the FreeBSD train, and install a GUI.

I'm now in the 4th chapter of the manual.
It's been nearly 4 hours.
I guess I don't have to follow the manual completely? (as some of the commands seem a bit redundant, and some of the reading is quite heavy, and unnecessary for me. (explanation of files, flags, libraries, ports,....).

Perhaps it would have been nice to have a smaller manual, to jump start people who already have some experience with Linux.

I'm running command "portmaster -a", as in the manual.
My old laptop is only a core 2 duo 1,6 Ghz, and the command has been running for nearly 1 full hour now.
I have no idea what it's doing. Really. Even after reading the manual.
It appears to me the machine is re-downloading the entire file library of what it already has on the USB drive.

Is every FreeBSD operating system so time consuming to install?
What is the average time a system installs with GUI (with the programs like you would run on a laptop, like browser, some office programs, etc...)?

Not complaining, it's totally new to me;
Just trying to see if I'm doing something wrong here.

If not, I can understand why few people would switch operating systems. Once the *6 hours* (or whatever it takes) install is done, there's no way anyone wants to go through that anymore! XD

The Handbook is more a reference manual than a tutorial and not meant to be read front to back.