Puppet zleslie/freebsd

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Is there anybody that uses the zleslie/freebsd module in Puppet?

I'm a total newbie when it comes to Puppet but I managed to get a basic configuration going. The same author has a PKGNG module and that one works perfectly. I created a few basic modules containing some services I wanted to manage and those work too. The freebsd module seems to have all the things I need to configure interfaces (including VLANs) but I can't seem to figure out how to use this module. The accompanied README only contains a few notes about the classes and definitions but doesn't provide any examples. And yes, I have read quite a lot of the Puppet documentation but all I managed to get so far are errors or a non-working module.

If I get this running properly for my client I will try to write up a how-to, covering the distribution, installation and configuration of various services on FreeBSD using Puppet.

I enjoy working with Puppet. I'm no expert but I did give the module a quick look and tested some stuff out. Hopefully this helps.

With this in my manifests/site.pp it will configure a static IP and MTU on em0 with a default router.
Code:
node bsd9vm {
  class {'freebsd::network':
    defaultrouter => '10.100.82.1',
  }
 freebsd::network::interface {'em0':
   address => '10.100.82.25',
   mtu     => '1300',
 }
}

If you look at modules/freebsd/manifests/network.pp, you see that it starts with class freebsd::network. You can declare this like the example above just by saying class and specifying the name of the class in the brackets. Then you just override the default variables listed at the top of the network.pp file by declaring them without the sigil in your node.