Programming "Function keys"

I am curious about something I read in kbdcontrol().
-f # string
Set function key number # to send string. Refer to the man page
for the keyboard driver (e.g. atkbd(4)) for available function
keys and their numbers.
I am a little new to BSD and couldn't get it working... in FVWM I couldn't get kbdcontrol -d (to dump keyboard layout onto stdout) to work, but after pressing ctrl+alt+F2 and entering it there it worked. I tried kbdcontrol -f 1 ls and it did not appear to do anything. Is this functionality meant to work, and if it is would it work after starting X, after starting FVWM2? It sounds quite handy, but there isn't much info on google.

Last edited:
I have experimented with hotkeys in FVWM and with sxhkd and there were some issues when trying to get a shortcut to print text with the 3 programs I tried to output text with... xdotool, xte (from xautomation) and xvkbd. The problem, mainly, was that I needed to insert delays of .1 to .25 seconds before the "output text" command or the start of the output would be clipped. I would have to use code like (sxhkd example with a line I'd put in the sxhkdrc):
Code:
mod5 + BackSpace
sleep 0.25;xdotool type -delay 0 email@address.com
I have been searching for a solution to this problem for months, one solution would be to use an Arduino programmed with QMK firmware connected to an array of buttons programmed to send strings when buttons are pressed.... I will probably try that soon.

I have experimented with hotkeys in FVWM [...] there were some issues when trying to get a shortcut to print text with the 3 programs I tried to output text with... xdotool, xte (from xautomation) and xvkbd. The problem, mainly, was that I needed to insert delays of .1 to .25 seconds before the "output text" command or the start of the output would be clipped.
Anything wrong with
Code:
key F12 A N Function SomeFunction

DestroyFunc SomeFunction
AddToFunc SomeFunction