Problem with x11 - newbie

Hi,

first post on this forum, this. I'm running ubuntu 8.10 on my laptop (thinkpad t61p) and want to try out FreeBSD. I've installed 7.1 on a VM using qemu and so far, I've been able to get a network connection (using dhclient) and starting x11 (startx).

I've never used FreeBSD before, and pretty much all my knowledge about linux has been aquired the last few months. I know it's not the same, but i guess it's similar enough to get some way.

My first (and only, so far) port was enlightenment-devel, because i wanted to check out the wm. The 'make' went well, except that it stopped at random times to wait for me choosing some options. I went default all the way.

But... 'make install' seems to go along for a while, but then goes into some errors. like this
screenshot-qemu.png

I chose to also use enlightenment and chose the package from sysinstall in x11 I installed xorg-minimal but I cannot get graphical.

I am new to FreeBSD and got it installed on my system via FTP, I know about enlightenment and chose it to be my environment but I got something wrong. Post-install of FreeBSD I wanted GUI or desktop environment so I installed enlightenment only to find that I needed to also install xorg. I do not know if there is any simple for newbies to follow instructions of how to do this. I installed the xorg-minimal. I am stuck, at a graphical login screen. I tried to follow the instructions in handbook on installing X11 and configuring it but I think I blundered somewhere. I tried rebooting into safe mode and single use mode to try to reconfigure but editors are not found and I can't proceed, then I booted from the USB to try to use fixit but I do not now how to use that. What should I do? DO I HAVE TO REINSTALL FBSD?

[ similar thread merged in - Mod ]

1. If you reboot and let it work, can it boot normally again? If not, what error message(s) are you getting?