Solved Printing Problems & Learning LPD/CUPS

I am currently having issues printing to two printers. A Sharp MX-2300N & MX-2301N. From what I can ascertain both support Postscript and even have dedicated downloads for such from the manufacturers website; however, after installing into CUPS with appropriate PPD file nothing comes out of the printers. CUPS logs show "successful" printing.

I am relatively new to printing on FreeBSD and wonder if there are any good sources of where to learn either LPD or CUPS to enable printing from these printers?

I have looked at the guide linked from the Handbook and Openprinting website. They pretty much indicate that you find the appropriate PPD, point CUPS at the printer and all should work, so anything that would delve into a little more detail would be appreciated. I hope to understand the printing process as I also have an OKI printer to eventually attach and print to as well and I should imagine that will also give me trouble.

Many thanks!

A Sharp MX-2300N & MX-2301N.
Both printers are network capable (free standing printer servers) and full PostScript printers. They need no driver. PPD PostScript Printer Description file is not necessary until we get things to print.
The /etc/printcap file should look something like this.

Code:
rp|MX-2300N:\
     :lp=:rm=ip_address_of_MX-2300N:\
     :rp=lp:\
     :sh:sd=/var/spool/output/lpd:\
     :lf=/var/log/lpd-errs:

Make sure spool has permission 775 and that group membership is daemon something like

Code:
drwxrwxr-x  2 root  daemon  512 Mar  8 12:51 ldp

Code:
cat 'lpd_enable="YES"' >> /etc/rc.conf

Reboot and you should be able to print with the command

lpr -PMX-2300N filename.ps

If it didn't work post the lpd log file.

any good sources of where to learn either LPD or CUPS to enable printing from these printers?