Power Management Problem - Almost Total Newbie

I've ended up here in a rather round about way...I have a Pentium II 300 that tried to put Ubuntu on (three different versions) and got basically nowhere...couldn't get the graphics configured and they all ran like dogs. I decided to try FreeBSD 7.1-RELEASE and see what happens. I ended getting X Server configured, XFce4 up and running, ssh working, etc. Well, it works great when I'm using it but if I leave it (it seems to be about hour), it just locks up...and it doesn't matter what at - login, prompt, X, or XFce4. I can't login in via ssh, either.

Where should I look to start troubleshooting this?

System info: Pentium II 300, 256 MB RAM, Asus P2L97 motherboard (with 1.01 (I think...it's the one from 1999) bios update for large drives), 40 gig IBM hard drive (10 gig FreeBSD partition, 20 gig Ubuntu partition, 10 gig unallocated), IDE CD-ROM (Toshiba, bootable) and DVD-ROM/CD-RW, Diamond Sonic Impact (ESS Maestro 2), Gateway VX900 19" monitor, Nvidia TNT2 (32 meg)

I do more with windows than anything else, but I've dabbled with other OSes, I had an iBook for while as my main computer (which I why picked FreeBSD after giving up on Linux)...but I'm an expert by no means and don't even know how to get a useful error message out of this thing since it locks up...any insight would be much appreciated (either where to start or, "hey, dummy, this is incompatible!")

Thanks in advance...

It should work fine on a P2, I still have one as my firewall :e

You can start by looking at /var/log/messages, see if there's anything in there that might give a clue.

You can also try to boot without acpi, it may be the cause of the problems.

I had a 266 MHZ Celeron with FreeBSD on it. Once I dabbled in the BIOS in an attempt to choose more energy efficient options.

Those ended up on the computer having its HDD spindown after a few minutes and me loosing access to the computer from SSH.