Solved Port for Brother printer drivers ?

Hi guys,

I'm looking into making my Brother printer (HL-1110) works on FreeBSD by using the Linux drivers.
I managed to do it once but lost my config since.
There are some information here or on other sites (edited with pinned 's link)
- dcp-j772dw : https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/brother-dcp-j772dw-printer-and-freebsd.69677/
- dcp-j140w : https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/any-chance-of-getting-the-brother-dcp-j140w-to-work.38655/
- https://tdotc.eu/2007/06/02/using-the-brother-printer-drivers-with-freebsd/

Basically, we need to edit the installation file to change the paths.

Would it be worth it if I try to make a port for this driver ? As a side note, I've never done any port before.
Thanks,

Last edited:
The Linux "driver" executable, which I think in the case of Brother printers is a wrapper, may have to be invoked via Linux emulation, in addition to modifying the paths. I thought I read a thread here a few years ago about that but not sure whether the poster had success.

The problem with Brother printers is that Brother has pulled the printing functionality out of hardware and put it in software, which is proprietary. The "driver" is a Linux binary wrapper. Without this wrapper, or native driver in Windows, the printer is useless on FreeBSD unless you can somehow get Linux emulation to run the binary. Far easier, albeit not cheaper, is to only buy PCL/Postscript printers. Possibly not an option for OP, and I get that: you have hardware and would like to use it.

Another option might be to host the Brother printer on another machine running Linux or Windows and share it out so FeeBSD can see it. I have no experience in that though.

EDIT: sorry, to clarify terms: "port" means to re-write a piece of software for a given platform. In the case of the Brother driver, it is provided in binary form and is not port-able because no source code is available.