Please help me build my dream FreeBSD box!

Hello,

So, I'm new to FreeBSD. Historically, my desktops and laptops have been running Windows 3.1 to XP, then Ubuntu Linux and finally OS X, from Snow Leopard to the current macOS Mojave.

I've been an Apple fan and do not regret it. But I can't justify it anymore. I'm really happy since I moved from iOS to Android. In the beginning, Android was messy and the smartphones crappy. Even more the tablets. While iOS devices where top quality both in software and hardware. But, in my point of view, the gap is now too thin or inexistant. I have a Redmi Note 5 that is currently sold for €150 on GearBest (in France). With a Snapdragon 636 and 3GB RAM, 64GB storage and running Android 8.1, it's plenty powerful enough even for my intensive usage (professional, but no gaming). The 6" IPS FHD screen is great. And with 4000 mAh battery, I'm amazed at how much juice there's left when I'm going to bed. So yeah, even if the iPhone XS Max 256GB (4GB RAM, 3 174 mAh battery) has a gorgeous 6.5" OLED screen and would cost about €400 to build, it does not justify shelling out €1,400 to me.

And I'm still angry at Apple to popularize the mobile apps, and the app store, instead of the Web. And that's too bad for them because that's one other reason I moved from iOS to Android: it was obvious I was running a Google ecosystem on my Apple device: Gmail, Google Maps, Google Drive and the whole G Suite. I did forced me into the iCloud ecosystem, but it was subpar (when not even sub-contracted to Amazon or Google, lol). Where it showed the most? The speech-to-text and more recently text-to-speech. It's clear that Google is years ahead Apple in term of cloud infrastructure and machine learning. And it's where the value is now (I live in France and mostly in big cities where 4G is great and cheap - I pay €4/mo for 20GB, at 55Mbps up / 35 Mbps up - so yes I'm always connected to the cloud).