pkg_cutleaves wants to uninstall everything

I'm new to freebsd (typically a Gentoo user) and I'm having issues with pkg_cutleaves.

Every time I run it (I do so with the -l option just to see what it would like to do) it always lists packages I've installed (such as xorg-server) among the list to remove. I can remedy this by putting these packages in an 'exclude' file, but the trouble is, pkg_cutleaves still wants to uninstall all the dependencies of those packages. I thought it was supposed to check for them?

Am I missing something? Also, is there a way to automatically add packages to your exclude file? (if you've used Gentoo before, like what emerge does with adding packages to the 'world' file?)

I'm basically trying to run the equivalent of 'emerge --depclean' that gentoo has.

hmm, I can't seem to find the edit button. I use pkg_cutleaves -lx to exclude the packages in the exclude file, but pkg_cutleaves still wants to cut dependencies.

One can do the same manually as the port:
#cd /var/db/pkg
#ls -lac a* | lookat (requires /lookat/)
Usually if a +REQUIRED_BY is not present it can be removed if you
have run pkgdb -F and resolved stale dependencies.
then one can pkg_delete -f port-number && yell (requires /yell/)
Sorry to not answer you specific question or if the above is
mistaken in some regard or not explicit enough

Note that pkg_cutleaves is not a tool for "just removing superfluous stuff". From the manual: [..] and lets you decide for each one if you want to keep or deinstall it [..].

All pkg_cutleaves does (like portmaster -L -> leaf ports) is show you which ports are not depended on by other ports; and yes, stuff like xorg-7.4_1 and xfce-4.6.0 belong in that category. They may be depended on by you. You decide.

Oh, and you can edit after 10 post && 10 days of membership.

DutchDaemon said: