pkg in iso format

Hi newbie here.

I was wondering if there is a way to get packages in an iso format? Where I can download and store the iso locally and install from the iso!

I am learning unix and installing on oracle virtualbox trying different things and doing reinstalls of FreeBSD when I mess things up :rolleyes:.
Have a limited download, installing packages all the time from the repository is chewing into my download.

https://www.freebsd.org/releases/11.2R/announce.html:
dvd1
This contains everything necessary to install the base FreeBSD operating system, the documentation, debugging distribution sets, and a small set of pre-built packages aimed at getting a graphical workstation up and running. It also supports booting into a "livefs" based rescue mode. This should be all you need if you can burn and use DVD-sized media.

You can pick the one relevant to your architecture here. Obviously these are RELEASE- packages.

Also note that if you've been downloading packages again and again, you can grab them from pkg's cache for later use. pkg.conf(5):
PKG_CACHEDIR: string
Specifies the cache directory for packages. Default: /var/cache/pkg

https://www.freebsd.org/releases/11.2R/announce.html:

You can pick the one relevant to your architecture here. Obviously these are RELEASE- packages.

Also note that if you've been downloading packages again and again, you can grab them from pkg's cache for later use. pkg.conf(5):

Thank you , I did download and burn the 11.2R dic1 iso, which I have been using to do the re-installs of FreeBSD in my VM. I was not aware that other packages were included. I thought extra packages had to be downloaded from the FreeBSD repository.

I will download and burn the dvd iso.

I eventually did an install of gnome, but haven't been able to figure how to get it to start.
Big learning curve.