[pfSense] ACPI errors on Lenovo Ideapad s10e

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to FreeBSD but a fairly experienced Linux user.

I recently got hold of a Lenovo Ideapad S10e which I'm using with an extra network adapter as a pfsense firewall for my home (an arrangement I have used before with other laptops). I'm getting quite a lot of kernel noise connected with ACPI exceptions like these:

Code:
> ACPI Error (exfldio-0390): Region EmbeddedControl(3) has no handler
> [20070320]
> ACPI Error (psparse-0626): Method parse/execution failed
> [\\_TZ_.TZ00._TMP] (Node 0xc41b7220), AE_NOT_EXIST
> ACPI Error (evregion-0427): No handler for Region [ERAM] (0xc41b8c80)
> [EmbeddedControl] [20070320]
> [20070320]
> ACPI Error (psparse-0626): Method parse/execution failed
> [\\_TZ_.TZ00._TMP] (Node 0xc41b7220), AE_NOT_EXIST
> [20070320]
> ACPI Error (psparse-0626): Method parse/execution failed [\\_GPE._L02]
> (Node 0xc41b74a0), AE_NOT_EXIST
> ACPI Exception (evgpe-0687): AE_NOT_EXIST, while evaluating GPE method
> [_L02] [20070320]
> [20070320]
>

I see that this is a known problem with the S10. Having googled quite a bit I see several mentions of it but nothing to suggest that it is cured. Does anyone know if the acpi_ibm module would help or of other ways to handle acpi on this laptop.

So far I don't notice any real issues connected to this (except for one lockup which may be connected to this or something else). They do spew all over stdout and dmesg and are annoying.

Cheers!

Have you tried booting FreeBSD 8.2 or 9.0 on that machine? (to figure out if either of them have less trouble with acpi on it)

Thanks Torfinn,

No, I haven't. It mght be interesting, but I'm stuck with 8.1 for the moment as that's the platform for pfsense 2.0

The worst spam is from this line:

Code:
ACPI Error (psparse-0633): Method parse/execution failed [\\_TZ_.TZ00._TMP] (Node 0xc5f0a3e0), AE_NOT_EXIST